If You’ve Ever Deleted Uber Off Your Phone, There’s Something You Should Know

If youve ever deleted an app off your iPhone, you were probably under the impression every piece of data related tothat application was wiped from your device.

Apparently, that wasnt the case with Uber.

Based off a new report in the New York Times,Uber secretly tracked users after they deleted the app from their phones and Apple was pissed.

Toby Melville/Reuters

Apparently, Uber onceused a tool called fingerprinting tokeep an eye on phones that installed the application.

By doing this,they were also able to keep track of users who deleted the app from the fingerprints left on their devices.

So, basically, Uber knew exactly who was using the app on their phones who already deleted it. Thats comforting, right?

The company claimedthey used fingerprinting toto prevent fraudulent activity, because it helped them determine whether or not a phone that already downloaded Uber was wrongfully re-installing it.

Needless to say, the fraud hack was against Apples privacy guidelines and Tim Cook wasnt thrilled about the news.

For those of you who arent aware,Tim Cook is the CEO of Apple. Hes a big deal.

When he found out about Ubers privacy violation in 2015, he arranged a meeting withTravis Kalanick the Chief Executive of Uber and addressed the issue.

Im telling you, this guy doesnt mess around.

Apparently, Cook addressed Kalanick and said, So, Ive heard youve been breaking some of our rules, and threatened to kick Uber off the App store.

YIKES.

Shutterstock

Since Cook addressed the privacy violation, Uber changed their fingerprinting tactics to comply with Apples regulations.

To clear the air, an Uber spokesperson talked talked to The Verge, and said,

We absolutely do not track individual users or their location if theyve deleted the app. As the New York Times story notes towards the very end, this is a typical way to prevent fraudsters from loading Uber onto a stolen phone, putting in a stolen credit card, taking an expensive ride and then wiping the phoneover and over again.

Similar techniques are also used for detecting and blocking suspicious logins to protect our users accounts. Being able to recognize known bad actors when they try to get back onto our network is an important security measure for both Uber and our users.

Well, thats comforting I guess?

Either way, were happy Uber isnt keeping track of our whereabouts without our consent.

Thanks for having our backs, Tim.

Read more: http://elitedaily.com/news/deleted-uber-off-phone-something-you-should-know/1868291/